• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy
    My home computer is very very old (like 8+ years :n00b:) and I'm in need of an upgrade. I've only used PCs in the past (Gateway, IBM, Dell) but I'm not married to the platform or any particular OS.

I use my home system for reasonably simple tasks like photo/video storage, simple photo/video editing, and surfing INGO. I don't use it for games and I don't download movies or music. I prefer the larger screen and interfacing with a desktop unit as opposed to a laptop, but I suppose those could be a contender as they're getting larger screens and I could always "dock" it at home with a full-size mouse and keyboard if I desired.

In a similar thread about backup systems someone mentioned upgrading to a MAC. My question is, why?

What are the pros and cons of such a move?

I have zero experience with the MAC OS, so how is it different?

Shive.Justin

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 16, 2011
    Greenwood/Whiteland
    i converted to a mac when windows rolled out with vista, and still use the same laptop to date. now, i'm no apple genius, but i think they run a whole lot better. it's all going to roll down to, you get what you pay for. a mac will run you more money up front, but i haven't had to install and update any anti-virus since i bought it. i wouldn't dare do that with a windows pc. there is definitely a learning curve when switching from pc to mac with zero experience. some say they hate them, but most love them. if you are just doing simple video and picture storage and editing, either will do the trick. they surf the internet just the same. there seem to be a lot of people who do picture and video editing that love their mac and say they won't switch back to pc.