• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cp009

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 75%
    6   2   0
    Jul 12, 2010
    NWI
    Let me start off by saying I am very educated on the firearms laws and codes in Indiana, and hold a degree of Criminal Justice/Minor in Pre-law at only 20 years young (I graduated high school a year early, and was taking college courses as a junior).

Yes I am "younger" than most that exercise their right to carry in Indiana, but I recently came across a post in the classified section as I was looking for a G19 (as I can only purchase a handgun through a private sale due to the Federal law which is complete blasphemy).

In this private sale add the individual states that the buyer must be 21. Although, I respect everyone's entitlement to sell their firearms to whomever they like I did not like this person's response to my question of why they require the buyer to be 21 years of age. I quote "Age 18-21 is a time when a lot of growing up happens."

Granted sometimes this is true, but yet people feel the need to not give a fair chance to those who are "younger". There are responsible young gun owners and I would like to consider myself one of them as I have been carrying since I was 18.

So why do I see so much discrimination against young people that choose to exercise their right to purchase and carry a handgun? I also wouldn't mind seeing some opinions too about why there is discrimination against young individuals trying to insert themselves into so called "adult life".

Westside

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 26, 2009
    Monitor World
    you may have knowledge but you do not have wisdom. wisdom is only gained through experience. At only 20 years old you have not had much life experience.

the seller of the firearm has the right to sell to any proper person they wish. They also have the right to not sell that item as well. Regardless if you like his reason or not.