• ...and so much more!
  • ACC

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    137   0   1
    Mar 7, 2012
    N. Side of Indy
    I am relatively new to carrying concealed and looking for advice. I carry a Shield 9mm in a N82 Tactical holster at 4 o'clock on my right side.

When getting into my car, I pull my weapon and place it in a holster mounted under my steering column so that I do not have to sit on it while I drive. However, my problem is getting it re-holstered in my CC holster when exiting the vehicle. It is difficult to holster the weapon without standing outside next to my truck. However, then I am visible to other people and they can see me holstering my gun. Since the point of CC is for people not to know you are carrying, having people watch me holster my gun does not sit right for me. Plus, I do not want people to freak out and think that I am getting ready to rob the place or something.

Thoughts? Advice?

ViperJock

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Feb 28, 2011
    Fort Wayne-ish
    I re holster whilst sitting in my car. It is not easy, but I've learned to do it pretty smoothly. I bet you will be able to figure it out. You might want to practice without one in the chamber...

bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    95   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    JMHO, but carrying at 3:00 lets the gun stay in your carry holster all the time. It's also much easier to draw and keeps the gun from being pinned if you are pushed against a wall.

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    I have the same problem sometimes when wearing the N82 holster since it will collapse without the gun. Get a kydex or hybrid IWB holster if you know you will be unholstering or getting in and out of the car a lot.

ViperJock

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Feb 28, 2011
    Fort Wayne-ish