• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jforrest

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2009
    Porter County
    When i bought my pistol, self defense was my biggest deciding factor (i know no surprise there). I know a 9mm is a far cry from being non-lethal, but some people swear on the bigger calibers. I on the other hand would rather shoot my gun as much as possible due to cheaper ammo. I'm a college student so money is really tight. This is why i chose 9mm, I can practice more and in the event I would need to protect myself my skills will be much better.

I thought of it this way, which would I rather have, one accurate shot on center mass, or a few well placed shots on center mass because I can control the gun better because I'm relying more on muscle memory.

Cheaper ammo = more ammo = more practice = more fun = i could keep going. :D

What are your reasons I want to hear them.

antsi

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 6, 2008
    I don't think there is any meaningful difference between the commonly used defense/duty calibers: 9mm, 357 SIG, .40 SW, .45 ACP. I don't think any one of these so far outperforms the other that it will be the difference between surviving a gun fight or not. If you can find a pistol in one of the above calibers that fits your needs and that you can shoot proficiently, you are about as good as you can get with a handgun.

If all the time folks spent debating the merits of different calibers and ammo could be traded for range time, they would be a lot better prepared.

Inexpensive widely available ammo is a major plus for 9x19mm. If that translates to more range time and more practice for you, I'd say you're a lot better armed than most.

jforrest

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2009
    Porter County
    I don't think there is any meaningful difference between the commonly used defense/duty calibers: 9mm, 357 SIG, .40 SW, .45 ACP.