• ...and so much more!
  • Dobber

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 7, 2012
    Granger (South Bend)
    So, here's the history:

Back when my wife and I were doing the dating thing (2005-2010) I always had a handgun. Just one. I carried it at times, usually when situations were more risky like midnight movie showings (no joking intended) or receptions at downtown venues, etc. She was always uncomfortable just knowing that I was carrying. I got her to the shooting range once in 2007, which she seemed to enjoy, but she has yet to go back. Once we had our first child she started limiting when I could carry; basically stating that she didn't want me to carry when I was around the baby. I declined agreement to that concept and it is still a contentious topic.

I'm a software installer/technician by profession and have found that the fastest way to get people to engage on a project that they're not fond of is to put them into a position of ownership. I applied that principle directly to this issue and last Christmas got her her very own Ruger SR9c. She didn't talk to me for the rest of the day or even halfway to Florida the next day. Now, before you get on my back about it - I know it was poor form to select her first gun for her. What I really did was buy a gun that I wouldn't mind as a backup/situational carry and put a shiney bow on it for her. I fully expected that she'd want to go back and pick out something on her own which I would certainly have encouraged.

Now I'm in a position that the "random" crime in my area is increasing and I don't feel comfortable having only a handgun in the house - locked in a safe. I've started the process of purchasing an M4 style SBR for Home Protection. I have neglected to tell her about this purchase yet as she is SOLIDLY anti-rifle.