• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GBuck

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Jul 18, 2011
    Franklin
    Ok, well I have my ESEE 4 (may pick up an Izula this weekend), and I have a few Spyderco folders. I am new to the knife "snob" world, and I'm growing very addicted, VERY quickly.
    Now I want a Chopper and I have no clue what direction to go.

I am trying to decide between the following.

The Scrap Yard Sycko 711
    It has SR-101 steel and a 7 3/8" blade.
    Price point: Around $140.00
    sycko711.jpg

The Swamp Rat Rodent 9
    Again, SR-101 steel, but has a 9 1/2" blade.
    Price point: Around $200.00
    images

Or

The ESEE Junglaus
    Made of 1095 Carbon steel and a 10 1/2" blade.
    Price point: Around $160.00
    1331947047146606377010.jpeg

Currently I am leaning towards the Sycko 711, because I think the OAL and weight is more reasonable and I could still use it for tech work if I wasn't chopping. I don't know that I would come across something that it couldn't chop that the other two knives could. In a close second is the ESEE Junglaus because, A) I have one ESEE, why not more? :D ; B) I like the 1095 Carbon. The only problem I see is the Junglaus is SO BIG. I don't know if I would ever use it unless I was specifically going out to chop.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. I've done enough buying and trying with guns.

OneBadV8

Stay Picky my Friends
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0
    Aug 7, 2008
    Ft Wayne
    GBuck... I have both of the top two. I'll gladly let you check them out.

As far as a "Chopper" the Rodent 9 is a lot bigger. Rumor has it that there will be a SYKCO 911 (9" blade) that will be better suited. The 711 may work, but I think a 9" blade would work a lot better.

All good choices though.

Knife Lady

PROUD TO BE AN ARMY BRAT
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    Central USA