• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • KW12

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2012
    Northside Indy
    I'm new to guns... Will be getting my first, Glock 17, next week or the week after. I also wanna get a 22LR gun for practice on the cheap. I read good things about Ruger MKIII and Browning Buckmark, but these guns look huge. I would want something that looks and feels like a regular handgun. Would appreciate any recommendations.

rugertoter

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 9, 2011
    N.E. Corner
    Well, you could look at the SIG Mostquito, the Walther P22, or maybe the Ruger SR22. These are more like the semi-auto pistols that one would carry for personal protection.

KW12

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2012
    Northside Indy
    Well, you could look at the SIG Mostquito, the Walther P22, or maybe the Ruger SR22. These are more like the semi-auto pistols that one would carry for personal protection.
    Thanks, but as I understand, the Mosquito is a bit pricey and problematic, and Walther P22 and the Ruger SR22 look more like toys than real guns. Or did I get that wrong? Just looking at it online S&W M&P22 looks pretty good, but I can't find any critical reviews on it.

Also, I know there is great magazine loader for the MarkIII or Buckmark that loads them in a few seconds. Is there something similar for M&P, P22, or SR22?

Colt556

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    65   0   0
    Feb 12, 2009
    Avon
    I've shot most of the new 22 autos out there. I really like the Walther P22 and Sig P220 22. The Mosquito was very problematic for me and the Sig 1911 22 (GSG) is probably bigger than you want, but it is good also.

doglb

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    50   0   1
    Jul 13, 2009
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Would have to agree with everyone else...
    Walther P22
    Ruger SR22
    Sig Mosquito

GSG if you want a 1911 platform
    Ruger Mark Series
    Buckmark