Newbie here needs advice on 22 LR rifles - for son as gift :)

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Lori

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 31, 2012
    Hancock County
    I am currently researching and looking to buy a 22 long range rifle for my 14yr old son, as a Christmas gift. I have done a little looking around, and it doesn't appear a new one is in my price range. I am hearing a Ruger is the way to go - do you agree? Why or why not? Where should I be looking to pick one up that is used? I am located in central Indiana.

NyleRN

Master
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Dec 14, 2013
    Scottsburg
    If you can go an extra $100, then the ruger 10/22 would get my vote for sure. Not sure how much success you'll have finding a rifle for $100. I was going to say buy him a cricket 22, but I see he's 14yrs old.

pudly

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    Nov 12, 2008
    Undisclosed
    You won't be able to find anything modern for $100. You may be able to find an old single shot or even a tube-fed for that price. The Ruger 10/22 is often recommended (including by me). They are quality semi-autos that can last a lifetime and can be customized/upgraded over time. However, you will have a hard time finding one under $200. The Remington 597 is another good competitor (fewer dress-up options) that goes for roughly $170. Savage 64 (semi-auto) or Mk2 (bolt action) are other good alternatives in the $140-170 range. Good luck with your search.