• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rmcrob

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 18, 2008
    Plainfield
    I always feel weird about this, so I'll put it here and let the true veterans tell me what they think of me.

I turned 18 in October 1970 and registered with Selective Service. I graduated from high school half a year later and planned to attend Rose Polytechnic Institute, which became Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology before I actually got there.

The class matriculating in 1971 was not eligible for student deferments, since the fighting in Viet Nam was continuing at a blistering pace. I was in the second (I think) draft lottery, and my number came up 36. Viet Nam, here I come.

I got called for a pre-induction physical sometime in the fall of 1971. I went through the physical in Indianapolis (quite depersonalizing) and passed it except for a question about my knee. I had had a football injury in the summer of 1970 with subsequent meniscus surgery, back in the days before arthroscopic surgery. My recovery wasn't as good as I would have hoped. Actually, I think the surgery was botched, because I still have trouble today.

Anyway, they sent me to an orthopod, who pronounced me fit enough to fight for my country.

On the way back to Terre Haute, I began to think that I would rather go to Viet Nam as an officer than as a grunt. (Please, don't take this as a demeaning thing. I would probably think much differently about it today.) So I joined up with Army ROTC asap. This instantly deferred my service until after college, which was all I really wanted.