• ...and so much more!
  • bwframe

Loneranger
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    95   0   0
    Feb 11, 2008
    Btown Rural
    Police use officer disguised as homeless man to catch drivers texting behind the wheel - Story | WTTG

BETHESDA, Md. - Montgomery County police are using an interesting method to catch drivers they suspect of texting while behind the wheel.15

The department placed an officer -- disguised as a homeless man -- at the intersection of River Road and Goldsboro Road in Bethesda. The officer, equipped with a wireless microphone, held a sign that read, "I am not homeless. I am a Montgomery County Police Officer looking for cell phone texting violations."8

When drivers pulled out their phones to text while waiting at the stop light, the disguised officer called to uniformed officers waiting nearby.

textdrive2_1445948910135_404126_ver1.0_640_360.jpg

kickbacked

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 12, 2010
    If i remember right it is illegal to use a phone while driving in maryland unless you have a hands free system.

igotdiesel2

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 16, 2009
    Southport area of In
    I see texting every single day going on in I-70 and I-65 on my way home from work. I have seen people almost rearend others while texting. I just don't know how it is more of a danger than say changing the channel on your radio or loading a CD, if anyone still have those in their cars. -Jason

bigretic

Master
    Rating - 100%
    72   0   0
    Jan 14, 2011
    NWI
    Just sold my 96 bmw 740il with the 6 disk changer in the trunk this year. that was real bear to change cd's while driving...

1911ly

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 11, 2011
    South Bend