• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I was a MSF trainer when we were able to use Governors State University grounds. Abate in Indiana has adapted most of the material from MSF. It is good stuff. I would suggest to take a course, even if you have 100 dirt bikes and have road raced internationally. Even as Trainer's we would have a different trainer take us through the middle and the advanced tests to make sure we did not pick up any bad habits.

The biggest thing about staying alive is believing with all your heart that the clueless fools do not see you and do not want to. Also believe that the ones who do see you really want to kill you. We taught students to always drive with a way of escape in mind. I worked tried to have two or three possible ways of escape.

The biggest thing that has changed since the 70's and 80's is the collisions from the rear. Back then, rear end collisions were a very small, single digit statistic. With cell phone, texting and touch screen on the dash board, rear enders have doubled. I was blasted at a light in Mena Arkansas in broad daylight by a woman who crosses that light every day for work. My buddy was rear ended on US 31 with a full dressed Hog having seven taillights on his bike!

All that said, plan all you can and when it becomes 2nd nature. you will be able to carve out a lot of fun.

loudgroove

Expert
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 7, 2023
    Lagrange Indiana
    Stay vigilant at all times. Take the class as mentioned above. I usually just ride out in the country just to enjoy the ride. I remember one time after getting to the top of a hump in the road there was a huge turtle crossing the road. I was able to miss the little guy, but would have been bad if I didn't. Just know there are more dangers than people on a cell phones.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%