• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Do you believe delivery drivers should be allowed to carry a weapon?

• Total voters

Goober135

Expert
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jul 15, 2011
    Valparaiso
    Carrying a weapon on the job (delivery driver)

For the past 3 years I have been a delivery driver in 3 different cities in Indiana (Indy, West Lafayette, & Valpo). At all three jobs i was never allowed to carry any type of weapon for protection. Do you agree with this? For those of you who have never delivered, it can be very scary delivering very late at night in bad neighborhoods (Indy especially). In the last month i was employed in Indy, drivers were robbed at my store, one of which had a knife held to them. Thankfully no one was injured, but i don't want to ever be in a situation like that and not have the chance to defend myself. Granted, i understand allowing one to carry a weapon while working carries some liability issues, but it can be a dangerous job.

Please refer to this article below, and go figure, it happened in Indy!
    AD: Pizza Hut Does Not Value Life - Dave Gibson - Jun 28, 04

Another more recent article from Indy:
    Pizza delivery man robbed, shot

*EDIT* Also, if you vote no, please explain your reasoning!

Last edited:

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    In a free country, I believe that a private enterprise employer has the right to tell it's employees that they cannot carry.