• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • IUprof

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Nov 15, 2010
    Fort Worth
    I need some input on ammo since I'm new to the caliber and it ain't cheap! Do you shoot factory .308 ammo or surplus 7.62? I assume surplus is dirty, but the rifle can be cleaned :) Any special source? I am just range shooting, not long range/match. Thanks!

Classic

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   1   0
    Aug 28, 2011
    Madison County
    I have shot both surplus and commercial in mine. I suppose you could get better accuracy from good quality factory ammo than with surplus, at a cost. I haven't noticed surplus ammo being any dirtier in firing, although sometimes the cartridge cases are not shiny and pretty. I solved the dilemma by loading my own ammo which I can adjust to fit the exact firearm/use and I can make it as "clean" as possible on the cartridge cases and with the type of projectile/powder combination. If you start shooting often you will likely want to begin reloading as well.

M67

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 15, 2011
    Southernish Indiana
    If I remember right, Garands and M1As (shooting non corrosive ammo), should be cleaned every 500-1000 rounds.

So, treat your rifle like the combat piece it's made to be and stop babying it and cleaning it after every magazine. Just because it's got a little powder residue doesn't mean it'll stop working.

Okay, that being said, Federal makes their M1A loads specially for M1As. But at over a buck a shot it's a little pricey. But it might be worth the security knowing the loads are right and they won't fire out of battery because they are the correct length

For a Garand, the "classic" load for that was 50 grains of 4064 using 150-155 grain bullets.

Looks like for a M1A using 4064 it's 36.1gr-42.6gr. Which is better than my "plinking" loads for my 308 AR, usuing 44-48 grains of powder depending if it's 748 or CFE

Last edited: