• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Landon

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 14, 2011
    Henryville
    Ok. I am not taking a position on OC/CC, I do both depending on where I am going and what I am wearing. But I see people say a lot that you shouldn't OC as "You'll be the first shot!"

Where does this argument come from? Does anyone have any proof or instances that have been published where a person OCing was shot first by a criminal? I am not an expert but when you see a robbery on the news that was caught on video at a gas station or business you never see the perp come in, take a stroll and inspect everyone. The majority of the time they storm in and straight to the cashier and demand the money. Just wondering if its actually ever happened or just a "theory".

Valvestate

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 11, 2012
    NWI
    I think there were instances of people being shot during OC, but I don't think there were details if the victim was shot first. I do remember there was one recently on here of someone shot with their own gun. It doesn't appear to be in the news much though. The problem for the theory of OC preventing crime is the difficulty in documenting a prevented crime because the crime wasn't committed. No crime, no suspect, no arrest, so no opportunity to document the details.

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 30, 2010
    Normandy
    I read online (could have been in one of my own posts)that in 85% of the shootings people who OC get shot first (people who wear kilts get shot second 50% of the time), people who CC can usually stop the criminals with their minds without even drawing their guns in 75% of the time.
    It's the internet, we dont need actual facts to say that OC will get you shot first.

jbombelli

ITG Certified
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    May 17, 2008
    Brownsburg, IN