What level of quality is a Del-ton rifle kit?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    Yes, I did use the search button and didn't find what I was looking for.

I'm new to building an AR and I found a kit that I thought would be fun to try out. It's made by Del-ton and all I'd have to buy in addition to the kit is a stripped lower. It's a great deal and I'm really considering buying one in the future. However, I don't know what kind of quality I'm looking at with Del-ton.

Now I'm not trying to start a koolaid or a bashing thread here. I just want an honest opinion of their quality level. I'm going to guess that for less than $500 I'm not going to get a colt level of quality, but would I be getting something that's serviceable and without any mechanical defects? I could care less about the gun looking pretty, but I definately want the gun to function reliably without a hiccup, or I'll hate it and sell it off.

I'm trying to find some honest reviews, but they're either hard to find or I've been looking in the wrong place.

TacticalM4

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 23, 2011

gajones06

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2011
    A friend of mine has a del-ton upper and the fit and finish is spectacular and as far as i know with almost 10k rounds down range hasn't had an issue yet...

teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008