• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tuoder

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 20, 2009
    Meridian-Kessler, Indianapolis
    I work at a university (Purdue University Calumet). I am also a student. As a result, it is illegal for me to carry a firearm while at work and at school. I spend far too much time here to go totally defenseless, and due to the open nature of the campus, we've had some attacks here and there (most thefts are nonviolent and target school property, but not all by any stretch).

I'm looking for a good quality knife for <$50 that I can conceal in a pocket. Any ideas? Is there information I need to provide that I haven't?

iamaclone45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 2, 2009
    Indiana
    I like to carry a KaBar TDI for a self defense knife.

https://www.kabar.com/product_detail.jsp?productNumber=1480

1480_large.jpg

The fixed blade makes it quick to action.

iamaclone45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 2, 2009
    Indiana
    Is there any particular advantage to that shape? It looks a bit small to me.

The handle holds very much like a firearm. It looks weird but is very comfortable and natural.

A couple of quick pictures. I have average sized hands.

photoon20100415at20182.jpg

photoon20100415at2018.jpg

There are several different types of holds you can do with this knife. If you just google the knife you should find something. KaBar also makes a model that is a little bit bigger but would be difficult to carry in a pocket.

tuoder

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 20, 2009
    The handle holds very much like a firearm. It looks weird but is very comfortable and natural.

A couple of quick pictures. I have average sized hands.

photoon20100415at20182.jpg

photoon20100415at2018.jpg