• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • majew

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Jan 10, 2013
    Indianapolis, IN
    So I've decided I want to use my tax return to purchase a new (or slightly used) handgun. In the past I have always had a 9mm but I was wanting to see what thoughts were on the pros and cons to having a 9mm vs. 45. I have decided I want to go with a glock. So please help enlighten me so i can make a better informed decision

HavokCycle

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 10, 2012
    Zionsville
    i have zero knowledge about .45 glocks.

i do however, have a decent knowledge of 9mm glocks and i'm a huge fan.
    is this your first gun and/or handgun?

your question is a loaded one really. you only state you're looking at calibers, not a model itself.
    fullsize, compact, your intended use, etc.

majew

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Jan 10, 2013
    Indianapolis, IN
    I have had a 9mm glock in the past as well has a 40 xdm springfield, but I didnt have those guns very long. Currently I only have a 1953 mosin nagant I am slowly adding parts too.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    9mm = cheaper to shoot, lower recoil if all else is equal, and higher capacity in the same size magazine.

.45 = Arguably superior terminal ballistics, especially if there is an intermediate barrier. Cool factor. Yup, I said it, .45 is simply cooler than 9mm.

That's the basics. You can read a ton of caliber war information of why someone's pet caliber is better than the other guy's pet caliber on any given gun forum, all of which will contradict another post that's equally well researched and reasoned, and ultimately useless. Shoot whichever one you're most comfortable with accuracy and speed wise.

*Disclaimer*
    I prefer .45.

aaron580

Master
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Nov 27, 2012
    Morgan County