• ...and so much more!
  • CRHK88

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 7, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    Hello all,

My wife and I recently got heavy into backpacking/hiking & biking and we are planning quite a few trips. We plan to mostly do day hikes and such with a possible 2-3 day'er/camping type once in a while. We will mostly be in northern Indiana up into Michigan including the UP, but are also planning some out west (Grand Canyon, Colorado Springs, etc.)

I am looking for a nice setup to carry with me and since I am fairly new to all of this and I was given a lot of good advice on my 1911 purchase, I figured I would bounce it off the forum.

What I would like to carry is a small EDC folder, a medium sized fixed blade and a multi-tool. We will also be kayaking so I want to make sure whatever I go with can handle getting wet without causing issue.

I don't want to spend a TON (I know that is relative, so say < $100-$125 per knife), but I will also spend more to get a good quality dependable blade with a good warranty.

As for the small EDC type folder I am strongly leaning towards the SOG Flash 1. Since I will also be carrying it daily, I liked the weight and the position of the clip. No other options at this point.

As for a fixed blade, I currently have a brand new SOG Seal Pup, which I thought I liked but I am not a big fan of partially serrated blades. So I considered getting the following:
    SOG Seal Pup Elite
    K-Bar USMC 7"
    Gerber Ultimate Knife
    Benchmade 158 *
    SOG Tech Bowie *
    * I am strongly leaning towards the Benchmade or the SOG Tech Bowie, not sure about the finish though on the SOG. I like the look of Satin but I read that the Black TINI is the way to go.

As for the multi tool I am leaning towards Leatherman because I like the fact that you can open the blade when it is closed and I also like the warranty. Plus I have read numerous positive reviews on their products.

Leatherman - Charge TTI
    Leatherman - Wave