• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 28, 2013
    Lafayette
    Hey all, my first question to the forum, I will soon be build a long range precision Savage Model 10 and I wondering if a stock would be better vs. a chassis system? I want to put great components into the rifle regardless of price. been looking at the McMillan A5 but also been looking at some chassis systems. Anyone with some knowledge and know how on the subject please feel free to chime in. Thanks

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I am no expert on the tacticool stuff, but the better chassis systems do actually work pretty well. I spent 8 years shooting Palma and Long range matches at Camp Perry and Oak Ridge. Almost everyone had a stock. There were a few chassis guns like the TUBB 2000. Things may have changed since 2003. The newer Stocks had internal Chassis (full length bedding blocks) built inside of them. I do know, with powerfull rounds, the Composite stocks have a sharper recoil feel than a heavy walnut stock. I have fired a TUBB 2000, but it was a smaller caliber round that does not recoil much anyway, so it would not be a good comparison.

Niles Coyote

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 20, 2013
    S.W. Michigan