• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dominicandemon

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 26, 2011
    St. Augustine, Florida
    I am new to handguns and I decided to go with the XD series from Springfield.

After a lot of research, mainly just reading forums, I decided to get the XDm 3.8", but then I went to a gun shop and saw a 3" XD and almost changed my mind.

Price for XD9 "3 inch is $489 vs XDm 3.8" $599. Is is worth the difference?
    I don't want to carry initially, but I would in the future and that is why I liked the smaller XD.

Also, after I get my 15th post I will be looking at the marketplace.

Thanks for any input.

Comp

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 2, 2009
    T H I N
    I really have no dog in the 9mm fight. Nor have I done more then held the 9mms. If it were the 40 I would justify based on 9 rounds XD and 11 XDM.

If you carry with the sub compact magazine, I don't see much difference. However, if you ever want to use it as a full size grip. Say when you KNOW you are going to the bad part of town. 19+1 is more then 16+1.

Also a little more barrel never hurts accuracy. Being realistic, I'm sure you won't be in a defensive gun fight past 10 yards, so It may be a moot point.

I am not a professional handgun fighter and these are just my opinions. I feel like you can't go wrong with either you choose.

shooter1054

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 22, 2011
    South Indianapolis
    I have the XD40 subcompact and love it. I often say that if someone breaks into my house I don't think they will care one way or the other with which gun they are shot. My point being get what you feel most comfortable.

anthony010

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jan 3, 2009
    Westfield