Should I clean my dies after loading lead?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    I'm still new to loading lead bullets. Pre-panic I stuck with jacketed only, but with cost and availability I've ventured to the lead side.

I loaded 100 .357s today, 158 grain LSWC Missouri Bullet Co bullets (thanks, Profire!). I noticed that it felt a bit sticky on the last few rounds. Like when I worked the handle it moved like it was in notches instead of smoothly. Does the lead or lube stick in the dies? Do I need to clean them out every so often? If so, what do I use?

ViperJock

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Feb 28, 2011
    Fort Wayne-ish
    Yes, lick them clean. Or wait, no, I can't remember now because i licked to many lead filled dies... Honestly, I don't know. I would just be very careful using lead. Low speed lead poisoning is just as bad as high velocity lead poisoning. Only, you know, slower....

sgtonory

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Apr 10, 2012
    Carmel
    I dont clean unless i notice my seating depth is below what i want. Now all i load is lead that i cast myself. Can shoot 45 cheaper than 22lr.

Sniper 79

Master
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Oct 7, 2012