Shotgun vs Muzzleloader....what would you do?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • VanillaThunder

Shooter
    Rating - 94.5%
    52   3   0
    Aug 13, 2008
    Fort Wayne
    Ok, i have been hunting ML season only for several years, just as a getaway with my dad. I put in for a few draws this year, and got 11/27 at Atterbury, and 11/29-30 at Pokagon. Here is my dilemma....

I know my ML well. it's a T/C Triumph with Nikon Omega scope, I am comfortable shooting out to about 150 with it. Since I will be hunting from a climber (first season with that as well), it won't be as easy to reload.

Should I consider using my 12ga Mossy 500 instead? it is 100% a turkey gun now, so I would need to put a slug barrel, scope, etc. on it and find a good slug.

Is it worth the time and expense to use the shotgun over the ML?

I would especially like to hear from those who have experience on public hunts like these...

Jack Ryan

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008
    Ok, i have been hunting ML season only for several years, just as a getaway with my dad. I put in for a few draws this year, and got 11/27 at Atterbury, and 11/29-30 at Pokagon. Here is my dilemma....

I know my ML well. it's a T/C Triumph with Nikon Omega scope, I am comfortable shooting out to about 150 with it. Since I will be hunting from a climber (first season with that as well), it won't be as easy to reload.

Should I consider using my 12ga Mossy 500 instead?
    No

it is 100% a turkey gun now, so I would need to put a slug barrel, scope, etc. on it and find a good slug.
    Wasted money