• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Simple Ed

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2014
    Kosciusko County
    I'm new to guns. I carry a Taurus pt111 g2.
    I'm considering a second. Perhaps a revolver (maybe to carry or just for home, or to get the wife involved...) (...and I admire revolvers...)

I've heard that if I get, say, a 357 mag with a stubby, 3-inch barrel, that I'm not getting what the 357 cartridge can promise. Am I castrating the calibre if I put it in a short barrel?

Thanks for advice/counsel!

Ed

Tombs

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2011
    Martinsville
    My experience says you give up more from an accuracy perspective with a shorter barrel.... power differences are real, but negligible.

Quite the opposite.

There's little to no accuracy difference, it's a matter of the shooter having a harder time with a shorter sight radius.

In power, the 357 magnum becomes pretty much just a 38 special +P when you get down to 3" or less.

If you load your own and play with powder burn rates SAFELY, you might get a snub nose specific load cooked up that might gain back some velocity but it'll never approach what just an additional inch of barrel can do for you.

venenoindy

Master
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   0
    Jul 14, 2009
    Noblesville
    My experience says you give up more from an accuracy perspective with a shorter barrel.... power differences are real, but negligible.