::raises hand:: newbie here! first purchase questions.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • b0r0b

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    May 28, 2010
    If this is in the wrong thread just let me know or move it as I didn't see any other appropriate forum.

So I've been around guns most of my life, back when I was a kid and my father worked for the NYPD in Park Slope. Since then, though, I haven't been "in the loop" but have definitely seen/heard the debates about glocks and steel and plastic and blah the list goes on.

To be honest, I like the look of a Glock, but nothing says "HAYYYYY" like a solid commander-1911. Thing is, I don't have $1,000's for a pistol, and I've seen some impressive things done with glocks (buried for years and power-cycled, ect)

So, I want something that looks solid in a nice holster, looking like they were "made" for eachother type deal. What would be the recommendation? I don't want some cheap ugly looking pistol, something with some solid sharp looks that's affordable whether new or used. Thanks for any feedback on my dilemma.

Neo46121

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 8, 2009
    Putnam County
    Go fondle EVERYTHING in your price range and see what fits you. It's not all about aesthetics (although they are nice) but more about function and fit.

There are several companies that make excellent firearms for not a lot of money. Check out Bradis in camby or Premier Arms in brownsburg and see what they have and what is available

JohnP82

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 2, 2009
    Fort Wayne