• ...and so much more!
  • Tombs

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2011
    Martinsville
    Of course they're a win win.
    They have someone looking over their shoulder now. Which means they can't break the law and that if the law is broken against them they have irrefutable proof of it.

I'd certainly want a camera if I was a cop. Might keep me out of jail if someone decided to have a legal vendetta against me.

Trooper

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    We used pinhole cameras feeding DVR recorders in Afghanistan. Now they have far better commercial stuff.

We used it because we were at risk of someone crying war crimes. This helped us prove that we were within the ROE.

Cops are the same way for the most part. Most do not want false complaints and few are engaging in abusing civilians.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    The complaint things jives with my personal experience. When someone would call to complain to my sergeant about me being rude, cursing, whatever, the first thing he did was tell them I carried a hidden voice recorder (which I did). Then it was "well, it wasn't what he said...it was the way he said it" or "well, he didn't curse exactly but...." I got very few formal complaints. Use of force makes sense, as well. Think of how folk's behavior would change if a news if a Fox59 camera crew was watching them during their interaction with police.

It came in handy when people made threats, too, which were generally accompanied with racial slurs, accusations of homosexual activities, occasionally pedophilia, etc. It was always a hoot when they were in front of the judge. Memorably, I had a DUI arrest apologize to me and was almost in tears because he couldn't believe what a complete a-hat he'd been while drunk when he heard the tape.

jamil

code ho
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 17, 2011
    Gtown-ish