• ...and so much more!
  • lucky4034

Master
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jan 14, 2012
    Quick breakdown/background...
    -New to AR-15 platform
    -Building PSA lower this weekend (1st ar)
    -Limited budget, but I want as many options as possible without sacrificing too much quality....
    -love tinkering and learning
    -I'm all about exploring my options​

I've been looking at some of the options for uppers compatible with AR platform. I know that I can purchase dedicated uppers for all kinds of different calibers and from my understanding they will all work fine with the lower I plan to build. I know for sure that I will want the capability to shoot .22lr for plinking and will also want AT LEAST 1 other larger caliber for bad guys/Nazi's/zombies etc.... however, I see no point in purchasing a dedicated upper for each caliber I may want to shoot if I can purchase conversion kits at %30 of the price.

The problem is that I'm a newbie and don't fully understand what all my options are and the pro's and con's associated with them.

My newb plan:
    If I understand this correctly, I can purchase a standard 5.56/.223 AR Upper from CMMG or PSA to shoot 5.56 and .223.

Then I can purchase a .22lr conversion for plinking and a .300 Blackout barrel should I want to throw some heavier rounds in pure sexy silence.​

????AM I RIGHT????

Can anyone explain some of the pro's of con's of going this route rather than spending a small fortune in a bunch of dedicated uppers to do the same thing?

Also... .458 socom looks like fun. How would that fit into this equation? (I know... for a newb I'm getting WAY ahead of myself... but what do you expect from a newb) :dunno:

All help and input is greatly appreciated.... I'm just an excited new gun owner that wants to do it all, but is too green to know where exactly to start.

Thanks,

-mike

Last edited:

Blackduck21

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 11, 2011