• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ibdiving

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2014
    lafayette
    I'm new to prepping and I was wondering what the first thing I should start my preps off with?
    Also how do you network with people to get into a prepper community.

4sarge

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Mar 19, 2008
    FREEDONIA
    $$'s determine where you start. Shelter, Food, Water, Self Defense are all concerns. Internet is a Community, Plan and then follow thru. Buying a few extra foodstuffs every week will get you going. Knowledge is key.

Enkrypter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Dec 27, 2011
    Somewhere
    don't go nuts, just start collecting a few extra things each time you go to the store and squirrel them around your house.

cheap meds on sale
    ramen noodles
    $0.33 canned goods
    cases of cheap bottled water or 1gal water jugs
    bulk pack of cheap LED flashlights
    bulk packs of batteries (AA, AAA, C, D, 9V)
    tea candles
    cutlery, kitchen knives, pocket knives
    rope/string
    sotrage containers, rubbermaid...
    oil lamps/oil
    Blankets

Think about what you would do without power and heat in the winter for 3 days.

Then have fun organizing it all.

bigus_D

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 5, 2008
    Country Side
    FEMA has a pretty good starter kit item list on their site. The absolute minimum preps in my opinion. If you don't have that, it's a good place to start.

Rocket

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Jun 7, 2011
    Whiteland
    That depends on what you are familiar with and what you intend to do with them. Reguardless, if you are new to guns as well you need training. Especially on safety and function. But I commend you on your awakening to a need to get prepared. I second the FEMA list to start with and the extra can of something every shopping trip.

OneShotFOGE

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%