• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Notalentbum

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 12, 2013
    Indy westside
    I'm pretty much a self taught shooter. I have a rifle that should shoot sub MOA with factory loads. I'm shooting more like 2-3 MOA. I'm just wondering is it all practice or should I be looking for some training. I've done an Appleseed and working with what they have taught me but wonder if I may be developing bad habits by continuing to practice wrong. I have looked for videos but most of what I have found is more along the lines of what I learned in the Appleseed. I do plan to do a few more Appleseeds this year. Most of what I'm currently shooting is on bench with a bipod, AR-15 and Savage model 11 in .308.
    I have the supplies to reload for both but not actually loaded much yet. Bulk reloading on the AR and hand loading for the .308. The Savage is really the precision gun, I just like to compare between the two to see how I am doing.
    Position pic for critique.

Thanks for any directions, Matt
    Benchshot.JPG

Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Oct 3, 2008
    On a hill in Perry C
    Just because the rifle "should" shoot MOA doesn't mean it will. Also, the ammo you're using may not agree with it. One last thing, for the ultimate accuracy, instead of using the bipod, try shooting off sandbags front and rear. Could be the recoil is causing the rifle to jump around a little. it will also remove as much of the human factor as possible.

HD1911

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Feb 26, 2010
    Henderson, KY
    Your shooting Tula and expect it to be Sub-MOA?

Seriously, go do yourself a Favor and buy a couple boxes of FGMM 168gr SMK and Hornady TAP Precision 168gr AMax and see what happens after that. I have never seen those two Loads shoot over MOA out of any decent factory bolt gun, provided nothings shifting or moving around with your Rifle/Optic setup.

Notalentbum

Expert