• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 09hemi

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 75%
    6   2   0
    Nov 15, 2010
    West Side of Indy
    Is it ok for my to leave my gun with the slide back? I mean its compressing the recoil spring so Im not sure if its a good idea or not. My though is in the midde of the night I dont want to have a ND as I am coming to and getting my hang gun out of the safe.

2010-12-03_13-48-02_796.jpg

combat45acp

Master
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 27, 2010
    DeMotte
    It won't hurt the firearm or wear out the spring. Springs are worn out by the "act" of compressing and releasing (movement). In either state they are not wearing out. Same with magazine springs, etc. I'm not a scientist, but I do play one on the internet. ;)

sj kahr k40

Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 3, 2009
    That would work, I'm assuming the mag in the gun is loaded:dunno:, I would rather have it in a holster loaded.

indykid

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 27, 2008
    Westfield
    I read a statement from Beretta that agrees what combat45acp stated. As long as the spring is in a steady state, they said that you don't have to worry about wear on it.

09hemi

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 75%
    6   2   0
    Nov 15, 2010
    West Side of Indy
    Yes there is a full mag in the gun, the holster I currently use will not fit in the safe, its a micro vault biometric. Its a great just one button press and a swipe of a finger.

VUPDblue

Silencers Have NEVER Been Illegal !
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   1
    Mar 20, 2008
    Franklin Township
    If it were me, I'd keep it loaded and ready in the safe. If you're concerned about an ND, practice keeping your finger off the trigger. :twocents:

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 30, 2010
    Normandy
    I dont see how this is going to prevent a ND.
    If you dont want any ND KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER.