• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • lovemachine

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Indiana
    More and more we see members of INGO buying single stack handguns to carry. Lots of them are also starting to carry the smaller "mouse" guns in .380. Now, with the new Glock 42, the largest complaint, minus not being a 9mm, is the actual size of th gun.

Are double stack high capacity handguns such as the Glock 19 and M&P Full Size as carry guns just not popular anymore?

Are people willing to sacrifice those extra rounds for more concealment? For the people who ARE carrying the lower capacity guns, do you carry an extra magazine as well?

Are single stack handguns really that much better to shoot than a double stack?

redwingshooter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    Mar 24, 2011
    Greenwood
    I have some experience in this so I'll comment. The first handgun I bought for CC was a Taurus PT709S. Leaving aside the fact that it was a Taurus it was a moderately reliable gun. It was finickey on ammo but that's another story. It is a single stack 9mm and it was very thin and light. It was fairly easy to conceal and weighed almost nothing. That being said, it was one of the most unconfortable guns to shoot that I have ever laid hands on. I'm sure there are worse out there but I haven't shot them yet. In any case, I opted to go for a double stack gun myself, namely the G17 so I sold the Taurus and have never regretted it. I know the G17 is bigger and harder to conceal but to me, the added weight, sight radius and mag capacity are worth it. I personally find full size handguns easier to shoot and so that's what I carry. However I think that the single-stack craze is mostly based on comfort and ease of carry. Just my opinion though. When I did carry the Taurus I would also carry an extra mag with it. I think it might also be a hand size issue as well. A lot reviews that I read about the single st