• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • IndyGunner

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 27, 2010
    Hi, I got my first handgun back dec 23rd and I just got my permit on saturday. I think it would be safe to say I am a rookie at carrying. (I grew up with guns, just never carried before).

First off, let me say that I feel totally confident in my weapon (glock 19) and I trust it with one in the chamber. I believe in the "I dont see the point of carrying unless you are ready to go" mentality.

My question, how long did it take to feel comfortable carrying and carrying a hot gun with no safety but what is between your ears? Its just strange for me. I have been brought up my whole life (because I never carried) with, ok shoot, unload, check the weapon to make sure its empty, put it in the case, put it in the gun closet. I TRUST my weapon to not go off, but I dont trust myself fully yet.

I think its easier for my to carry hot when I am outside my house, do you feel different when you are in your livingroom compared to when you are out?

Do you guys take your gun out if you are sitting down. I dont mean sitting upright like you were eating dinner. I mean, laying on the lazy boy watching tv.

Do you take your gun out when you drive? Im wondering if there could be any problems because of the contour of the seat.

I have a crossbreed supertuck with an awesome trigger guard, I just feel strange. If a gun isnt in use ive always had it unloaded. Now that I am old enough, and have taken the proper legal steps, its strange carrying all the time, let alone with a "ready to go" gun.

Every second I am getting more comfortable with it and the trust is building. I was just wondering what your experiences have been and if you have any tips or tricks to go from slightly nervous to fully trustworthy.

(like I said I trust it, please dont suggest a revolver, the g19 is my gun.)