• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Coaster

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Feb 24, 2011
    Brownsburg
    I want to apply for a Florida Concealed Carry Permit and am looking for a qualifying firearms safety course in the Indy area. The only course that I know about at the present time is the Utah class offered by Gander Mt. but don't know if this would also qualify for Florida app.. I hold an Indiana LTCH and have been a shooter most of my adult life but have never taken an actual course. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Also, I am new to INGO and this is the second time that I have tried this post so, if I screwed it up or it shows up twice, sorry.

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Welcome to ingo, fellow B-burg-ian!

I don't think the Utah class will work for the Florida permit, as Florida requires actual firing range instruction. The NRA Basic Pistol course will work fine, though. Here is a link to "official" NRA courses (search by zip or location):
    Find NRA Near You

If you are taking the UT class, there isn't much need to also get the Florida permit. I believe they cover almost the same states.

NIFT

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 3, 2009
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    The Indiana LTCH is honored/recognized in the following 26 states:
    AK, AL, AR, AZ, CO, FL, GA, IA, ID, KY, LA, MI, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NH, OK, PA, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, and WY.

Both the Florida and Utah permits are recognized in the following additional states:
    DE, NE, OH, VA, WA, WV.

With the Florida permit, add KS and NM.
    With the Utah permit, add MN.

The above information was compiled, recently, from Handgunlaw.us

The Florida permit costs $117 and is good for 7 years.
    The Utah permit cost (I believe) $65 and is good for 5 years.
    The Utah permit is cheaper to renew.