• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Chris387

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 21, 2012
    Just south of Indy
    Pretty much what the title already said, but I'm also wanting to know what else (besides price) I should consider when buying one. If what I'll be using it for is a factor, I'm looking to do a lot of practicing in the back yard.

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    Im far from a archery expert, but Ive found that getting your draw length measured is Vital to accuracy. I had been shooting a bow that was WAY to short for me for years. This past season I bought the right length, and improved by leaps and bounds day 1.

FishnHunt

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 18, 2013
    Churubusco
    I'd say the most important thing is to go to a dedicated archery shop where someone will take the time to work with you and fit something to your needs. They have the knowledge to fit you correctly and will usually let you shoot a number of bows to find out which works best for you. There are three shops near me (Northeast Indiana) that I wouldn't hesitate to send a new archer to. You may end up spending a little more short term, but starting off on the right foot can save you tons down the road.

Other than that, the biggest advice I can give is to start low on the draw weight until you build a good base of fundamentals. A bow that has adjustable draw weights can grow with you as you advance. Good luck, and let me know if I can help at all.

hoosierdoc

Freed prisoner
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 27, 2011
    Galt's Gulch
    When I hear of archers and leaps and bounds, I think of this

[video=youtube;RtmbZnXSQ7k]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtmbZnXSQ7k[/video]

Vilage.Idiot

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 17, 2012