• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • xdmstu

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 6, 2010
    Lower NE Indy
    Hello all. I'm a bit new to gun cleaning and was curious some of your opinions and experience with a few different products.

1) Super QCG - I picked up a spray bottle of it at the 1500 back in January. The bottle describes it as a "Cleaner - Micro Lubricant - Rust Inhibitor - Moisture Dissipator" I've used it a few times on my XDM and it cleaned up my new CZ P-01 just fine. Things feel smooth without being oily.

2) RIG Universal - I bought it a few years ago to maintain an old High Standard .22 pistol I have. After use and cleaning I apply a light coat all about the old pistol.

3) Hoppe's #9 Lubricating Oil in a spray can. It came as part of a shotgun cleaning kit my brother gave to me. I've not used it yet.

4) Hoppe's #9 Powder Solvent also from the kit. A barrel cleaner, but I've yet to use it.

5) Rem Oil with Teflon Lubricant

I also use a Hoppe's Boresnake and a Silicone Gun cloth by Outer's.

Thanks for any input. In the meantime, I'll watch a few of many "how to" cleaning videos on YouTube.

Cheers.

sporter

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 9, 2009
    Southern, Indiana
    Hoppe's Solvent is a great barrel cleaner.

The Rem Oil is a great general lubricant and rust preventative.

I use automotive grease on most of the metal to metal parts.

GregD

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Oct 7, 2009
    Madison County
    I agree with Sporter on the Hoppe's and the Rem oil. I would ad that for the trigger group I use Remington Dry Lube and then wipe the gun down with an Outers silicone cloth.

ReadnFool

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 2, 2010
    Sheridan, IN
    I degrease / pre clean with non chlorinated break cleaner all the metal parts. Even though they say its safe I avoid using this on polymer parts just in case long term problems were to occur.