• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • VGIRL317

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 28, 2008
    I AM A CDL DRIVER AND JUST WONDER IF I CAN CARRY MY GUN WHILE DRIVING. IN OTHER STATE'S I AM MORE THAN SURE EVEN WITH MY INDIANA PERMIT IF I GET PULLED OVER AND THEY ARE AWARE OF ME HAVING A GUN THEY PROBABLY WON'T LOOK THE OTHER WAY BUT DRIVING IN STRANGE AREA'S WITH THOUSAND'S OR MILLION'S OF DOLLAR'S OF CARGO IS A LITTLE SCARY WITH NO PROTECTION. ANY INFO WOULD HELP VANESSA :draw:

esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy
    With a valid Indiana handgun permit you can carry in your vehicle. As for other states, you will need to make sure they have reciprocity with Indiana and they recognize your permit.

The bigger problem would be if your employer allows you to carry while driving their vehicles.

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    I AM A CDL DRIVER AND JUST WONDER IF I CAN CARRY MY GUN WHILE DRIVING. IN OTHER STATE'S I AM MORE THAN SURE EVEN WITH MY INDIANA PERMIT IF I GET PULLED OVER AND THEY ARE AWARE OF ME HAVING A GUN THEY PROBABLY WON'T LOOK THE OTHER WAY BUT DRIVING IN STRANGE AREA'S WITH THOUSAND'S OR MILLION'S OF DOLLAR'S OF CARGO IS A LITTLE SCARY WITH NO PROTECTION. ANY INFO WOULD HELP VANESSA :draw:

Define "carry my gun."

If you mean you transport your gun, yes you can transport your gun with you, but you may not be able to legally carry your gun with you. Federal laws allow you to transport guns across state lines and even through cities like Chicago that forbid guns, but if you transport a gun through Chicago it must be locked, unloaded, out of reach. So you can transport it but not necessarily carry it.