• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cwillour

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    90   0   0
    Dec 10, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    OK, so I am trying to figure out appropriate ways to carry at a variety of times when having fun outside with the kids. Most of the time things are pretty simple, but some activities give me more concerns and I was looking for information on what you folks do.

1) Soccer coaching: I am a pretty active coach and frequently run with the kids as well as limited contact when demonstrating drills. As I know several of the parents would react badly to me open carrying, I try not to let the parents get in the way of the kids development. I would prefer to carry, but most of my rigs either show during this type & level of activity or restrict motion enough to be problematic.

2) Skiiing, snowboarding, tubing, etc: While I have no thoughts of pulling a Bond and having a moving shootout, I prefer to carry for stops to & from the activities (as well as during breaks.) My concern here is a mixture of access and security. I normally keep all my valuables in zipped pockets, but I do not have a pocket that fits my carry gun and can handle the weight. I am concerned a wipeout could cause enough snow force on my holster to rip the gun out from under my jacket (I know from experience it's easy to have a mag yanked from a belt holster in this situation -- that took some time to find.)

3) Swimming, water parks, etc: No, I don't need to carry in the pool, but I am not comfortable leaving it in the car or a locker. I am not even that happy leaving it in the hotel safe when we are at a resort. On the other hand, much of the fun the kids have revolve around activities that require my participation due to their age, so sitting out defeats the purpose of the trip.

What do you do and what do you find works out over time?

Thanks

Last edited:

nascarfantoo

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Oct 29, 2012
    Western IN