• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • poweraddict

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 25, 2010
    Greenfield
    So I know this seems like a silly post, but I have never used a outdoor public range before and I was wondering if anyone could give mee some pointers on outdoor range etiquette as I plan on visiting New Castle's range soon. I've read a lot of horror stories about public ranges and a disregard for safety and common sense by some of the range goers.
    Also I am interested in what you are allowed to bring as targets at a public range. My assumption would be paper targets only? Also what is the ettiquette for setting up said targets down range. Obviously this is my biggest concern due to potential disregard for safety by others.

EMDX6043

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 28, 2015
    Hammond
    If it's anything like Kingsbury, don't **** off the range officer! Just follow the written and verbal instructions...

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In
    Yea the public range were I'm at is horrid! The main thing is to be observant of what you and everyone else you is doing. Mostly range etiquette is just common sense, keep all weapons pointed in safe direction, some ranges don't allow rapid firing and always make sure someone has called range clear or cold when going to setup targets and make sure everyone knows range is cold before starting to walk down. Yes most public ranges only allow paper targets, so make sure you take a target holder of some sort if the range doesn't have them already and or a staple gun with staples or some duct or masking tape to hang them as well as extra targets. Most often than not there will be respectful gun owners such as yourself at the public ranges but it only takes one moron to ruin it for everyone. Just be safe and have fun!

kramer5702

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 16, 2015