• ...and so much more!
  • Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel
    Savage is known to make reasonably priced rifles that are accurate out of the box. I have no personal experience, but I've read it a lot. .308/7.62x51 is pretty much described as not the best at anything, but pretty good for a lot of things. It is a current NATO caliber, so, at least until the latest unpleasantness there was a good bit of surplus available. It can take any game on the continent. It's fairly well regarded as a sniper round. I have a couple of bolts and an SA chambered for it. You can fire 7.62x51 in a .308 but are advised not to do the reverse.

MG77

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 7, 2013
    If you are going to own a larger caliber, it's not the most expensive to shoot, ammo is not to hard to find, and as stated above will be large enough to put anything down hunting wise in North America. In my research many rounds are better but this is the round that works for a lot of different applications and doesn't break the bank.

aclark

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    The 219
    You can fire 7.62x51 in a .308 but are advised not to do the reverse.

Incorrect, unlike .223/5.56, MOST the time you are ok switching between 7.62 and .308, again I stress MOST.

As far as the Axis, its a cheaper option from Savage, I think they have somewhat replaced the Stevens line if I'm not mistaken. No personal experience with them, but from a little bit of reading I've done, they can't be upgraded with normal Savage 10/110 parts like the Stevens line was capable of.

MG77

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 7, 2013
    Does the Axis have an adjustable trigger? It is rated at 6.5 pounds.