• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • chiggins83187

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 28, 2009
    Whitestown
    I was wondering if anyone could suggest some martial arts courses for me. I've never done anything before, so I'm a definite newbie! I am hoping to get into personal protection once graduating college (Dec '10) and would like to have some type of self defense training on my resume. Any suggestions on what I should take? A friend of mine suggested aikido. Any thoughts??

Gaudard

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 29, 2009
    Terre Haute
    I take Jeet Kun Do and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Lot of fun, and I think they have good self-defense applications.

BJJ is what most of your UFC fighters take because it is the ground game, and most fights end on the ground.

JKD is Bruce Lee's martial art, it is a varied martial art.

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    my favorite form is juijitsu. but thats for the cage in a real fight its difficult to use because if there is multiple attackers the ground isn't the best place to be. i would recomend more of a striking form like kempo or jeet kun do. in a cage i dont have to worry about his buddy kicking me in the teeth while i have him in a armbar

mercop

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 21, 2008
    PA
    Ju Jitsu and Judo. Then add it edged weapons, impact weapons, and firearms. Be sure to check out the background of the teacher. Too often you will find a trophy collector who owns a school and has his underlings teaching the classes. You would be much better off finding a few guys with experience and training witht them. Focus on what the arts have in common, not was seperates them. You are going to have a rough time getting into the personal protection thing unless you are former LE or MIL.- George

BTW, good comments Shay.

Scutter01

Grandmaster