• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Prometheus

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    I haven't seen this in awhile. It's eye opening to someone thinking about preparedness for the first time.

To any newbies seeing it for the first time. You can be well on your way by starting with some of the cheaper basics like rice and pasta. Don't get overwhelmed. 50 pounds of rice is under 20 dollars.

colt45er

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Nov 6, 2008
    Avon, IN
    I am new to all of this, but the water seems to be on the light side....for my family 2 adults 2 kids, it says only 56 gal of water and 4 gal of bleach.

Does this seem like not enough to anyone else?

indyjoe

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 20, 2008
    Indy - South
    I am new to all of this, but the water seems to be on the light side....for my family 2 adults 2 kids, it says only 56 gal of water and 4 gal of bleach.

Does this seem like not enough to anyone else?

For 2, 28 gallons of water seems VERY light. I have 40 gallons of water stored and expect it to be a one month supply. (I guess 50 more in the water heater too.)

I wonder if they are just talking the water needed to cook the food?

squarepeg

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 11, 2008
    Lake County
    That seems to me like an odd list of things you need. I don't have at least half that stuff for normal living. And wouldn't want much of it at anytime. Honestly, what are you going to use molasses, corn syrup, jello, or some of that other stuff for if shtf. What good is shortening used for? Isn't that for baking deserts?

After thinking for a while, I guess the flour, baking powder, and yeast are there to make bread, right? Although I don't know anyone younger than 50 who knows how to bake bread without a bread maker machine.