• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • millsusaf

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Dec 8, 2008
    Carmel
    In Indiana, can you carry (open or concealed) on your own property?

Does this change if you rent the property?

Does this include outside but in your property lines?

Thanks

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    Your own property is good to go!

MY understanding of the law that if you're renting a house/property then you are, in effect, kind of a "de facto" owner and entitled to almost all rights and privelages entitled to the person on the deed. Therefore (I'm not a lawyer!), you're good to go when you're on your rental property.

Anywhere on the property is OK, by law, too. If your property adjoins a school playground, though, I can see where that might cause you problems to be seen carrying while mowing your yard.

But in Indiana, you do NOT need a License To Carry Handgun (LTCH) to buy a handgun, nor have one to carry on your own property.

Indiana law also makes NO provision that dictates that a carry weapon must be concealed. We're perfectly allowed to carry open and/or concealed.

Now, if you go OFF your property, chances are that you'd then be carrying illegally if you don't have a LTCH.

ETA: Indiana Law also has a provision stating that you do not need a LTCH to carry a firearm at your fixed place of business. (But, again, if/when you remove that firearm from that fixed place of business, depending on circumstances, you might be in violation of State law if the firearm is on your person)

Another ETA: I don't know how firearms/carrying against a landlord's wishes, if somehow that's in a Lease Agreement. That's a subject for a lawyer!

-J-

Bubbajms

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Sep 3, 2008
    Delphi, IN