• ...and so much more!
  • 2A_Tom

Crotchety old member!
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 27, 2010
    NWI
    I stopped at Luke Oil to get lunch the other day; I grabbed a couple of Arizona® Teas, ordered chicken and got in line to pay. While I am standing there I hear from behind someone say “are you a police officer”? I didn’t move, then a little bit louder “are you a police officer”? So, I turned around and looked up a foot or so to look in the man’s eyes. I asked him “Why do you ask”? He pointed down at my hip. I asked, “And who are you”? He pulled out his credentials to show me that he was a Lake County deputy and said “You have to go outside and cover that up. I said “that is not the law, Sir”. He: “You cannot just walk into a business with your gun showing, I’m an officer and even I have to conceal when I am off duty”. I, “Sir according to Indiana Code 35-47…”. He: “You have to cover it up”. “No Sir. I don’t”. :):

He: “Do you have a Concealed Carry Permit”? I: “No Sir, I don’t, I have a License to Carry a Handgun”.:): He: “Let me see it”. I showed it to him and he handed it back.

He: “well anyway you have to cover it up”. I: “not according to IC 35-47…”. He: “I don’t know what this IC 35-47 that you keep throwing out but it doesn’t make any difference you have to cover it up”. (At some point he said that he had been on the Lake County department for 19 years. Really! and does not recognize a Code citation.) I said, “Call the State Police and ask them”.

He: “Do you want me to get uniformed officers out here, because if I do they will confiscate your pistol”? I: “Not unless they do it illegally”. He: “Do you want me to call for uniformed police”. I: “Yes, I do want you to call the State police and get them out here; they know the law and will tell you that you are wrong”. :):