• ...and so much more!
  • Stschil

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 24, 2010
    At the edge of sanit
    Hey INGO Truckers,
    I'm getting ready to switch carriers after the first of the year and am in need of a good GPS Unit. I think I've narrowed my choices down to these two:

Rand McNally TND 720 LM IntelliRoute Truck GPS with Lifetime Maps CURRENT MODEL:Amazon:GPS & Navigation

Garmin Dezl 760LMT 7-Inch Bluetooth Trucking GPS with Lifetime Maps & Traffic:Amazon:GPS & Navigation

I'm a total noob to GPS's. I've always been a map guy and honestly, will still probably cross reference routes against my atlas at least until I get to know and trust the electronics. But, the new job involves more secondary road driving than I've ever done with a combination vehicle, so I think it's probably time to step into the 21st Century.

What are your recommendations?

Snapdragon

know-it-all tart
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Nov 5, 2013
    NW Indiana
    I don't have a trucking GPS, but I love my Garmin NUVI. Lifetimes maps and traffic is great. Mine doesn't have that, and I'm too cheap to pay for the upgrades.

Trigger Time

Air guitar master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 98.6%
    204   3   0
    Aug 26, 2011
    SOUTH of Zombie city
    Wow, that reply made mine look relevant.
    I'm just tired of almost getting killed by big trucks. I don't speed and I also don't cut them off because I know they can't stop on a dime. Also I stay back far enough so I can see their side mirrors so they can see me. Yet more and more I'm seeing them in the wrong lanes going too fast, forcing cars over, Ect. Their GPS's must be broke

romad7

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 17, 2013
    Dayton, OH
    Not a trucker but I spend a lot of time on the road. I use my iPhone but if I was to drive trucks for a living, I would probably get an iPad mini (need 3G/4G version for GPS) and an app like this one: