• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • perry

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 18, 2010
    Fishers, IN
    It's on my list for next year. Thinking of maybe doing the Light in April and the Challenge in June. There's a new ranger green ruck coming out in September that has my eye. Any words of wisdom?

Last edited:

Expatriated

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Apr 22, 2013
    It's on my list for next year. Thinking of maybe doing the Light in April and the Challenge in June. There's a new ranger green ruck coming out in September that has my eye. Any words of wisdom?

I'm planning on doing the Light in April as well so we'll see each other.

As far as words of wisdom, let me give you my personal experience with it (everyone will be a bit different):

First of all, I'm 40 years old. That was definitely not an advantage in the physical department. However, I've got a lot of experience being very uncomfortable for long periods of time so my life experiences helped in the mental department. The point is, don't be discouraged regardless of age. There are advantages to old or young.

They say that 90% of it is mental. That is probably true because no matter how much of a stud you are, it seems like you will exhaust your physical resources at some point. Maybe you make it 7 hours vs someone else's 2 hour limit, but regardless, you'll need to steel yourself mentally.

Frankly, there were many times I wanted to quit. I didn't quit but I dealt with the "Quit Fairy" for much of the second half of the Challenge. You CANNOT, CANNOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES start thinking about the end or how much you've done, what time it is, if this is the last exercise, etc. Don't make deals with yourself either. Don't say, "Well, I've got only one more exercise in me." Or something like that. You're killing yourself.