• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mettle

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Nov 15, 2008
    central southern IN
    Esrice has mentioned a couple of times that, since I own both types, I should 'do a review' of them both. Well, I've finally taken the time. Keep in mind, I am not a pro, nor have I attended class after class of carbine courses to see these optics break, fail, have major issues or have I been to battle with them where I had to beat someone with my rifle, thus experiencing 'the optic still works' thought.

This thread, post, is really just to be informative and a conversation starter; and, perhaps if it is observed to be useful enough, a sticky.

Let's not start a flame war, this or that war. Let's talk about these, their usefulness; and, if the poster has actually used the optic personally and owned one PERSONALLY, NOT HEARSAY, he/she can share experiences for or against.

I want this forum to be useful, to me and to others who are seeking unbiased information that is either hard to find, or scattered in bits and pieces across the web and in various instructors and class monger's heads.

Here goes. I like the Eotech better, it works with my eyes. I can find and hit faster and land more hits, on-target with it better than the Aimpoint. I like the field of view I have over the top of the rifle, more, with the Eotech.

It has it's cons that I have experienced. Shutting it off, is just completely annoying. Two hard pushed fingers on both buttons at the same time. The thing occasionally needs to be re-zeroed. (my Eotech is an old model, keep that in mind) Battery life, DON'T forget to shut if off. The new ones are boasting 600 hours on CR123 batteries now, though.

I have my Eotech, until I get a new model, on my Daniel Defense DDM4 rifle. (It's green b/c it used to be on the XCR :): I had it OD Duracoated then)