• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rkesar

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Oct 11, 2009
    new whiteland
    I have recently decided I would like to get a recurve. I am definitely a beginner, as I've only shot a recurve once. Does anybody know a good beginner bow that isn't super expensive but reliable and will last. I'm wanting something to just shoot around and eventually if I ever get confident enough with it try to harvest a deer. I did see a PSE coyote that looked pretty decent and not a bad price, does anyone have experience with this bow? I've also seen a couple bows online that someone put a modern sight on does anybody do that? Also need advice on arrows, would the arrows I use with my compound be ok or should I try real feather fletchings. I looked at broadheads and I think I like zwickeys and magnus but haven't decided. I am a complete newbie to this and I think it would be a fun hobby and I think I would love the challenge of trying to harvest a deer with one. Any and all info is appreciated

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest
    The PSE Coyote is a Spyder riser with Ragim limbs IIRC. I had one, got it used with a twisted limb, straightened right up.......but I had to twist the string up to get it to not be shocky and the # was 5 lbs higher than the 50 it was supposed to be ( when I got it to the brace height where it was tolerable). I've shot a 35# a bud has, can't recommend that bow.

It's an inexpensive bow (relatively speaking) that is marketed toward those used to compounds.

I'd look for a used 70's era Bear/Wing/Howatt before I'd buy a new metal riser "entry" recurve. One can still find deals now and then. 2 yrs ago I sold a 45 # Grizzly in VVG shape for less than 100 bucks. It was a bit noisy, and some old rigs can be..........but I found it was due to limb resonance and dampeners worked very well at hushing it,