What if you carry but walk your child to and from school?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Tyler-The-Piker

Boondock Saint
    Rating - 100%
    101   0   0
    Jun 24, 2013
    ><(((((*>
    it seems as though the IC specifically states that dropoff/pickup from a school is ok for carry
    as long as the gun is secured in vehicle?
    well...what if you live so close to the school that you walk your child to and from?

GunnerDan

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 16, 2012
    Clark County Indiana
    I am not a lawyer, but I did stay in a Holiday INN last night. I would say that as long as you drop your child at the property line of the school that you are well within your rights to carry no matter what the sheeple may say.

Gunner

CathyInBlue

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    You can only take them up to the front door of the school if the front door opens directly to the driver's side of a lane of motor vehicle travel, or onto a public sidewalk. If there is a gap between your driver's door and the front door of the school, that's as close as you can get while driving. If there is a gap between the closest approach of a public sidewalk and the front door of the school, that's as close as you can get while walking.

Tyler-The-Piker

Boondock Saint
    Rating - 100%
    101   0   0
    Jun 24, 2013
    ><(((((*>
    they release the kids one at a time to an "authorized" adult that has a specific window decal.
    cars pull up in line with passenger doors facing school. kids are released one at a time to front vehicle...