• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Chefcook

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Oct 20, 2008
    Raccoon City
    I shot a few really awesome targets with my rifle this week. My twist rate is 1:9 I was shooting 62gn hollow points. I then switched to 55gn FMJ and could not duplicate the results. My other AR is an LMT with 1:7 twist will it do better with the lighter Bullets?? Am I now in a position where I will have to keep 2 different weight bullets on hand one for each of my AR's? Both rifles are 16"...

Last edited:

Bigum1969

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    SW Indiana
    I'm sure I could be wrong, but I thought that a 1:7 twist would actually perform better with heavier bullets. My SIG 556 is 1:7 twist and does well with heavier bullets.

Again, I'm fairly new to this stuff. I think I have read somewhere that the 62 grain round performs best in a 1:9 twist.

IndyBeerman

Was a real life Beerman.....
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jun 2, 2008
    Plainfield
    Lighter bullets slower twist, heavier bullets faster twist.
    A faster twist can do a couple of things to lighter rounds, first it can make the nose stay up as it goes it downward path, sorta like a plane landing tail first, second it can actually make a light round over spin and break apart due to rpm's over 30,000.

I used to have a old Remington 244 (now the 6mm rem) that could not fire anything over 90gr because of the twist rate being to slow.

Last edited:

Chefcook

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Oct 20, 2008
    Raccoon City
    Lighter bullets slower twist, heavier bullets faster twist.
    A faster twist can do a couple of things to lighter rounds, first it can make the nose stay up as it goes it downward path, sorta like a plane landing tail first, second it can actually make a light round over spin and break apart due to rpm's over 30,000.