• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 16, 2008
    You probably get a lot of these threads, sorry. Ok, I am new to all of this. I have never owned a firearm of any kind in my 50 years. Not for any particular reason, just never did. I grew up around guns, my Dad always had them and us kids knew better than to ever touch them without permission. My brothers all own guns, I just haven’t.

The wife and I have decided that we want a revolver (personal preference) for home protection and to shoot at a range once in a while. My understanding is that we do not need any permit to do this. We don’t plan to carry it around other than to target shoot occasionally. It will be in a safe beside our bed otherwise.

Here are the revolvers we have looked at online and a few of them at the two gun shops we have visited. I am a little concerned that a .357 will be too powerful for my lovely other half to use comfortably. We really want to stay under $500 and would gladly buy used if we could find something we want. You can tell that they are all 4" models, I think that is our preference. 2" barrel is too short for our comfort and 6" barrel too long.

Charter Arms -.357 target mag pug
    Rossi- MODEL R97104 .357 MAGNUM 4" BARREL 6-SHOT
    Rossi -MODEL R85104 .38 SPECIAL + P 6-SHOT (we really like this one)
    Taurus -SERVICE MODEL 827 .38 SPL. REVOLVER
    S/W-Model 10 Revolver (my personal favorite of all of these)

Suggestions on any other models and where they might be available are welcome and appreciated.

ATM

will argue for sammiches.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Jul 29, 2008
    Crawfordsville