• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • billyboyr6

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Jan 28, 2010
    greenfield
    I have a new galco combat master for my new n frame smith, and it is pretty stiff. I can holster the gun ok, but drawing the gun is impossible. I will break my belt loops before the holster lets go. I have to hold the holster with one hand while drawing with the other. That doesn't work for me.

What can I do to the leather inside of the holster to Soften up the leather so it will not hold so tight? I tried some leather boot wax stuff that keeps my boots soft and waterproof, but the holster is so dry and stiff that it doesn't soak it in.

JetGirl

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 7, 2008
    N/E Corner
    Contrary to what you think you need to do about "softening the leather", you REALLY don't want to put softening agents on it.

Also, you never want to store your firearm inside a holster...BUT... for a break-in period of a few weeks, slip your gun in a plastic bag (a thin one, like a WalMart bag) and leave it holstered over night. This will not only form/stretch things a little to a degree with a little breathing room...it will protect the finish of your gun from the chemicals/acids in that newly tanned hide.

Grump01

Sharpshooter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 20, 2009
    Madison County
    I have used the heavier plastic bags that some holsters have come in. Wrap your unloaded gun in one or two of them and put it in the holster for a few days. When you take it out it should be easier to put in and out. You might also dampen the inside of the holster using water in a pump spray bottle first and leave until dry. It doesn't take as much extra thickness as you might think to stretch one. Galco also sells on their website a lubricant "DRAW EZ" you can put inside of a holster.

longhuntr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0